About Sulawesi

Formerly known as CelebesSulawesi is shaped like a tropical orchid. It is the third largest island in Indonesia with an area of 172,000 square km. The central part is ruggedly mountainous and the best connection has always been by the sea. The latest official census estimate (January 2014) is 18.5 mil.

The island of Sulawesi is divided into the provinces of North Sulawesi, South Sulawesi and Southeast Sulawesi. Sulawesi has great topographicaly spectacular mountains, scenic coastline, beautiful lakes, rice fields and dense jungle which offer wonderful opportunities for travelers.

4 of the 8 existing national parks are mostly marine. The largest one is Bogani Nani Wartabone, but the most well known is still the Bunaken National Park which protects a rich coral ecosystem. To experience other than marine activities, Toraja highlights the cultural side of Sulawesi. This mountainous land is known for its funerals ceremonies as their ancestors’ heritage and its landscape.